Mary Kom, Sindhu, Mirabai, Keshavan elected in IOA Athletes’ Fee

Published:Mar 9, 202412:32
Mary Kom, Sindhu, Mirabai, Keshavan elected in IOA Athletes’ Fee

5-time world champion boxer M C Mary Kom, double Olympic medallist PV Sindhu and multiple-time winter Olympian Shiva Keshavan have been amongst 10 eminent sportspersons elected unopposed as members of the IOA Athletes Fee within the polls held right here on Monday.

The opposite seven members of the apex physique are Tokyo Olympics silver medallist weightlifter Mirabai Chanu, 2012 Olympics bronze winner shooter Gagan Narang, veteran desk tennis participant Achanta Sharath Kamal, ace hockey participant Rani Rampal, fencer Bhavani Devi, rower Bajrang Lal and former shot putter OP Karhana.

All the ten members, out of which 5 are feminine, are Olympians. Keshavan is the one Winter Olympian.

Solely 10 candidates filed nominations for a similar variety of seats within the Athletes Fee and Umesh Sinha, who can be the returning officer of the upcoming IOA elections, declared all of them elected unopposed.

India’s first particular person Olympic gold medallist shooter Abhinav Bindra and former India hockey group captain Sardar Singh will full the 12-member athletes fee of their capability as members of the corresponding our bodies of the Worldwide Olympic Committee and Olympic Council of Asia respectively. Each of them may have voting rights.

Bindra was appointed as member of IOC Athletes Fee in 2018 for a eight-year time period whereas Sardar was made OCA Athletes Committee member in 2019 for a four-year time period. Beneath the brand new structure of the Indian Olympic Affiliation which was adopted on November 10, the athletes fee is to have equal illustration of female and male members.

Keshavan, who has represented India in six Winter Olympics, stated this was the primary full fledged athletes fee in IOA historical past.

“Sure, it is a historic second for the athletes of the nation. We now have a correct and full fledged athletes fee for the primary time in IOA historical past,” Keshavan informed PTI.

Two members of the athlete fee -- one male and one feminine -- will sit on the IOA Govt Council, which will probably be elected on December 10 on the orders of the Supreme Courtroom. 

Disclaimer: We at request you to take a look at motion photographs on our readers solely with cinemas and IPL, Sports, Hotstar and any official digital streaming companies. Don’t use the pyreated web site to amass or view online.

Publish date: 2022-11-14 15:42:09
Get All Fantasy Cricket Ideas and Information - Click Here

#Mary #Kom #Sindhu #Mirabai #Keshavan #elected #IOA #Athletes #Fee

To stay updated with the latest Bollywood news, follow us on Instagram and Twitter and visit EsportzKeeda, which is updated daily.








EsportzKeeda profile photo
EsportzKeeda delivers comprehensive coverage of major sporting events, including video highlights, results, fixtures, betting news, Casinos and more.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.