School Soccer Awards: USC's Caleb Williams wins Maxwell Award

Published:Mar 9, 202408:23
School Soccer Awards: USC's Caleb Williams wins Maxwell Award

Is the Heisman Trophy heading to Southern California?

The indicators appear to be pointing in that path, as USC quarterback Caleb Williams was introduced because the winner of the Maxwell Award on Thursday night time.

The Maxwell is given yearly to varsity soccer's participant of the 12 months and tends to foreshadow the Heisman winner as properly. Seven of the final eight Maxwell winners have additionally received the Heisman, with the lone exception in that stretch being 2018, when Oklahoma quarterback Kyler Murray (Heisman) and Alabama quarterback Tua Tagovailoa (Maxwell) break up the awards.

Williams received the Maxwell over fellow finalists Hendon Hooker (QB, Tennessee) and C.J. Stroud (QB, Ohio State). 

That is not the one {hardware} Williams took dwelling on Thursday, because the Trojans' signal-caller was additionally named The Related Press faculty soccer participant of the 12 months, turning into the varsity’s first winner of the award since 2005 along with his stellar debut season for the Trojans.

Williams acquired 32 of the 46 first-place votes and 117 whole factors from AP High 25 ballot voters to win the award offered by Areas Financial institution. The Heisman Trophy favourite completed properly forward of TCU quarterback Max Duggan, who got here in second with six first-place votes and 64 factors.

Stroud was third, with Hooker in fourth and Georgia’s Stetson Bennett fifth.

Alabama linebacker Will Anderson Jr., the primary repeat SEC Defensive Participant of the Yr, was the one non-quarterback on this 12 months’s high eight vote-getters, ending sixth after coming in fourth final season.

[Heisman Trophy preview: Key questions around each finalist]

Williams, Stroud, Duggan and Bennett are the finalists for the Heisman Trophy, the winner of which will probably be topped on Saturday. 

A number of different awards have been handed out on Thursday night. This is the most recent:

Maxwell Award (participant of the 12 months)
Winner: Caleb Williams

Williams handed for 4,075 yards with an FBS-leading 37 touchdowns and simply 4 interceptions this season, finishing 66.1% of his passes whereas profitable the Pac-12′s Offensive Participant of the Yr award. He additionally rushed for 372 yards and 10 touchdowns.

AP Participant of the Yr
Winner: Caleb Williams, QB, USC

Walter Camp Participant of the Yr
Winner: Caleb Williams, QB, USC

Bronko Nagurski Trophy (Defensive participant of the 12 months, judged by FWAA)
Winner: Will Anderson Jr., LB, Alabama

Anderson dominated the SEC in his junior season, racking up a conference-leading 10 sacks and 17 tackles for loss, regardless of going through frequent double-teams. He additionally notched his first profession interception, which he returned 25 yards for a landing.

Lombardi Award (Excellent faculty soccer lineman)
Winner: Will Anderson Jr., Alabama

Chuck Bednarik Award (Defensive Participant of the Yr, judged by Maxwell Membership)
Winner: Will Anderson, Jr., LB. Alabama

Davey O'Brien Award (finest quarterback)
Winner: Max Duggan, TCU

Duggan wasn't even TCU's starter at the start of the season, but he led the Horned Frogs to the CFP, passing for 3,321 yards and 30 touchdowns alongside the best way. He is the varsity's first participant to win the Davey O'Brien Award, which was named after the previous TCU star.

Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award (High upperclassman quarterback)
Winner: Max Duggan, TCU

Doak Walker Award (finest working again)
Winner: Bijan Robinson, Texas

Robinson rushed for a career-high 1,580 yards and 18 touchdowns this season, rating fifth and fourth within the nation, respectively, in these classes. He additionally caught 19 passes for 314 yards and two touchdowns, a versatility which may have given him an edge over fellow finalists Blake Corum (Michigan) and Chase Brown (Illinois).

Belitnikoff Award (excellent receiver)
Winner: Jalin Hyatt, Tennessee

Hyatt was a key to the Vols' high-powered offense, catching 67 passes for 1,267 yards and an FBS-leading 15 touchdowns. He was additionally at his finest on the largest stage, going for 207 yards and 5 touchdowns in a win over Alabama.

John Mackey Award (excellent tight finish)
Winner: Brock Bowers, Georgia

The 6-foot-4, 230-pounder caught 52 passes for 726 yards and 6 touchdowns for the undefeated Bulldogs. He additionally ran the ball six instances for 93 yards and three extra scores.

Jim Thorpe Award (finest defensive again)
Winner: Tre'Vius Hodges-Tomlinson, TCU

The nephew of former TCU and NFL star working again LaDainian Tomlinson was a pressure at his cornerback place this season, notching 42 whole tackles (together with two tackles for loss), three interceptions and 11 passes defensed.

Butkus Award (High linebacker)
Winner: Jack Campbell, Iowa

Campbell was all over the place for a dominant Hawkeyes protection this season, racking up 115 whole tackles, 3.5. tackles for loss and two interceptions.

William V. Campbell Trophy (Educational Heisman)
Winner: Jack Campbell, LB, Iowa

Jack Campbell notches a security

Jack Campbell notches a safety

The Iowa Hawkeyes took a 5-3 lead over the South Dakota State earlier this season when Jack Campbell tackled the ball service ultimately zone.

Rimington Trophy (excellent middle)
Winner: Olusegun Oluwatimi, Michigan

Outland Trophy (most excellent inside lineman)
Winner: Olusegun Oluwatimi, C, Michigan

Paul Hornung Award (Most versatile participant)
Winner: Jack Colletto, LB, Oregon State

Wuerffel Trophy (Neighborhood service award)
Winner: Dillan Gibbons, OL, Florida State 

Ray Man Award (punter of the 12 months)
Winner: Adam Korsak, Rutgers

The Australian averaged 44.0 yards per punt this season, together with one which sailed 77 yards.

Lou Groza Award (excellent place-kicker)
Winner: Christopher Dunn, NC State

Dunn set ACC profession marks with 93 area objectives made and 479 whole factors scored.

The Residence Depot Coach of the Yr
Winner: Sonny Dykes, TCU

Dykes is the primary head soccer coach in TCU and Huge 12 historical past to begin his first season 12-0.

Eddie Robinson (Coach of the Yr, judged by FWAA)
Winner: John Stiegelmeier, South Dakota State

Broyles Award (High assistant coach)
Winner: Garrett Riley, OC/QB coach, TCU

Burlsworth Trophy (High former walk-on)
Winner: Stetson Bennett, QB, Georgia

Learn extra:

Get extra from School Soccer Observe your favorites to get details about video games, information and extra

Disclaimer: We at request you to take a look at motion pictures on our readers solely with cinemas and IPL, Sports, Hotstar and any official digital streaming companies. Don’t use the pyreated web site to accumulate or view online.

Publish date: 2022-12-09 08:20:02
Get All Fantasy Cricket Suggestions and Information - Click Here

#School #Soccer #Awards #USCs #Caleb #Williams #wins #Maxwell #Award

To stay updated with the latest Bollywood news, follow us on Instagram and Twitter and visit EsportzKeeda, which is updated daily.








EsportzKeeda profile photo
EsportzKeeda delivers comprehensive coverage of major sporting events, including video highlights, results, fixtures, betting news, Casinos and more.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.